The Unemployment Diaries: Baking Edition

We’re in week two of unemployment.  While it’s been lovely catching up on sleep and other things that I neglect when I’m busy (i.e. cleaning), a life at home is not a life for me.  I’ve always been the type of person that’s going about 90 miles an hour every day of the week;  not doing something is just… not for me.

However, I have been perfecting my housewife skills!  I’ve been baking up a storm.  In the past week and a half, I’ve baked three times:  once, some delicious bacon, black pepper, and fig scones (using fresh figs from our tree!), chocolate chip cookies, and finally, the subject of this post.

Cheesy pull-apart bread.

I love How Sweet Eats.  Granted, 99.9% of her recipes go against my lovely new gym and diet routine (Seriously. My core, it hurts).  But she still fills her blog with great pictures and fantastic recipes.

I’ve tried her Cheesy Pull-Apart Bread before, and the roommates were quite smitten with it.  So I thought I’d give it a try, but I’d use a different kind of cheese.  Let me introduce y’all.

Have you tried Sweetwater Valley Farms?*  If you haven’t, I don’t know what’s wrong with you.  Their Black Pepper cheddar… I mean YUM.

I happened to have two blocks leftover from the last time my wonderful grandmother shipped some up to D.C.  And since uneaten cheese is, quite simply,  a tragic situation, I grated it up to go in the bread!

Decadent, right?  However, I couldn’t just leave it alone.

I added minced garlic.

Naughty Virginia is naughty.

Our Cast of Characters

(When cooking in my kitchen, a laptop is mandatory practice).

You can find the recipe at Jess’s website (linked above).  Until then, enjoy a delicious shot of my final product!

Yeah, I know you're drooling. 🙂

Garlic and cheese.  Is there anything better?

 

*Sweetwater Valley Farms did not pay me to write this.  I just love their cheese.  But if they want to send me some free goods, *coughcough* I would be more than happy to accept them.  😀

One thought on “The Unemployment Diaries: Baking Edition

Leave a Reply

