No more homework, no more tests…

Finishing grad school has meant several things for me.

 

For one, I’m not shackled to my laptop anymore.  We’re still in a relationship and all, but if we had a Facebook status, it’d be “It’s complicated.”  I mean, I still love him (yes, my laptop not only has a gender, but a name as well.  Let’s move on), but we’re seeing other people.  At least, I am.

 

My wonderful parents (two of the four people who read my blog at all) gifted me with a NOOK Color for my birthday last month.  Best. Gift. Ever.

 

It’s been two weeks since my birthday, and I’ve read seven books.  For fun.  This is precisely why my parents didn’t give one to me while I was in grad school.

 

Because I probably would have failed, and that would be a lot of money wasted on an unfinished master’s.

 

Anyhoo.  Moving on.

 

(Speaking of electronics, I’m on the fritz with my iPod.  It won’t turn on, it won’t recognize that it’s plugged up to either the wall or the computer, and I just don’t know what to do.  I feel naked without my earbuds and music on my commute, y’all.  Suggestions?)

 

My poor little iPod, submerged in rice

Finishing grad school also means I have more time for me.  I can go to a late dinner or stay out on the weekends, and I don’t feel like I have to rush home to type whatever paper I’ve put off until the last minute… again.

 

Wait, you mean you don’t do that?  Fine, don’t admit it.

 

But I know your secret.

 

I don’t feel guilty about watching an entire season of Game of Thrones over the course of two days.  And now, I can finally read the books… because I have time!

 

With this time, I’ve also decided to do something I’ve been wanting to do for a few years.

 

NaNoWriMo.

 

National Novel Writing Month (NaNo for short) is a month long challenge that takes place during November.  The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel (which, according to the site, is approximately 175 pages) by 11:59 p.m. on November 30th.  I’ve had a few plot bunnies bouncing around my head for a while, so now it’s time to see if they’re worth anything when I commit them to type.

 

When the madness begins, I’ll put the little widget up that tracks my progress so y’all (all five of you) can cheer me on (or tell me how crazy I am, one or the other).

 

Is it November yet?  J

2 thoughts on “No more homework, no more tests…

  1. Good luck with NaNoWriMo! I wish I could sign up for it; and get my but in gear with the original fiction that i have outlined…but quilting is sadly my life write now outside of theatre 0:)

Leave a Reply

