The most wonderful time of the year

I am a really, really terrible blogger.

I shouldn’t be.  I have the WordPress app on my iPhone . I could blog from the Metro if I wanted to– but I think I’m too much of a nitpicky grammar nerd to ever try and do that.  Predictive text, my foot.

I say it every time, but I’m going to endeavor to be a better blogger.  I average one blog post a month (excluding April… we’re just going to blame the grad school professor from you-know-where for that lapse), which is lame.  So, my new goal is to blog at least once a week.  It might be about something, it might be about nothing– probably the latter– but at least I’ll be blogging.

Ooooh, fun tidbit to share:  two weeks ago, I placed 2nd in The Pioneer Woman’s Titanic quiz.   Won a $150 gift card to Amazon and everything!  See, Mom?  All those years of watching Titanic over and over and over again finally paid off!  😀

Beautiful, beautiful gourds

I love fall.  Did you know that?

It’s my favorite season.  I mean, don’t get me wrong: I love summer.  Who doesn’t?  How can you not love a season where tank tops, flip flops, and frozen adult beverages consumed on patios are en vogue?  Summer reminds me of being a kid; of traveling across the south and playing softball every weekend, showing cattle during the hottest week of July, and family vacations at Sandestin.  But summer also is one thing:  hot. Hot.  HOT.

And humid.  Farewell, sleek and controlled curls.  I hardly knew thee.

But fall.  Oh, fall.  (Or autumn, if you’re too European to say fall).  How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

This sums it all up

True, my Ole Miss Rebels are on a highway to hell.  Tennessee isn’t doing much better. But I love football, and I’ll still watch (if only so I can cheer against Mississippi State and Florida).  And no, I really can’t see the stars from my humble city dwelling, but I’m sure they’ll still be there when I go home for Thanksgiving.  But I have PUMPKIN!

And if you’re like me and love pumpkin (Kristen, I’m looking at you!), then you’ll enjoy this:  An Open Letter to Pumpkin Flavored Seasonal Treats (via McSweeney’s).

What’s your favorite thing about fall?  😀

One thought on “The most wonderful time of the year

Leave a Reply

