Single in the City: Let’s Eat!

A few months ago, I saw a tweet about a study. Granted, I follow several Hill newspapers who are always tweeting about studies and polling numbers, but this was different. This study, conducted by TODAY.com and Match.com, was about dating and eating habits.

I thought it was very interesting that they found thirty-percent of respondents said they would not date a vegetarian/vegan.

Then again, I’m not sure why I found that interesting. I know that being a vegetarian/vegan would be a dealbreaker for me.

Truth

Why won’t I date a vegetarian/vegan? Let’s break down my points.

♥ I grew up on a farm. We raise beef cattle. It’s so much a part of who I am today. Choosing to forsake meat and other animal products is completely alien to me.

♥ Like the story says (link below), sharing meals is a communal thing. It’s a way of bonding – humans have been bonding over food for thousands of years. Part of what makes the bonding experience so fun is enjoying your food with someone else. I fully admit, I’m guilty on more than one occasion (of course, so are most of my dining partners) of stealing a tasty morsel off someone else’s plate.

♥ I have never met a vegan who was not preachy about their diet. This one doesn’t really apply to vegetarians; I know several very nice vegetarians who couldn’t care less that I enjoy a medium rare steak. But the (few) vegans I have encountered acted like I was somewhere between Joseph Stalin and Nero on the morality scale because of my dietary habits.

♥ I like meat. Sorry I’m not sorry.

You can read the story in its entirety here. I think it’s amazing that less than five percent of the U.S. population is vegetarian or vegan, but they’re so vocal you would think there are more of them.

But that’s okay. More bacon for me!

Would you date a vegetarian or vegan? Or, consequently, if you are a vegetarian or vegan, would you date a meat-lover? Or do dietary choices play no factor in who you date?

8 thoughts on “Single in the City: Let’s Eat!

  1. Hello,
    I’m just passing by but I guess the difference between vegetarian and a vegan is that the first is more concentrated on a diet and the later – on ethics and consequences. No person can make you feel like Joseph Stalin if you’re not him, so, probably, you’ve caught some ‘vegan dust’ =)
    As a lacto-ovo-vegetarian with vegan view on things (mind you, apart from eating meat they try to stop animal cruelty, usage of their furs and global warming) I would date a meat-eater, because it’s not that hard to share meals for me (though I guess you don’t necessarily bond with a person you share meals with – at least I don’t). Understanding is key for relationship, not food =)
    p.s. As you’ve mentioned that you grew up on a farm, I guess you also cared for every animal you raised, am I right?

    • Hi Tina! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Great point, re: vegetarian vs. vegan. I misworded that bit about the morality scale a bit, so I’ve updated that. I meant to say that they acted like that’s what I was, not that I felt that way. I’m fine with my dietary choices.

      I think my biggest thing for me about sharing meals with people is that I’m from the South. Southern culture really revolves around food; it’s such a huge part of who we are, and it’d be hard for me to be with someone who couldn’t enjoy all the same things I grew up loving and still share with my friends and family. I fully respect the right of people to make their own dietary choices, though!

      And yes, we cared for all our animals. I showed cattle (and for one brief summer, sheep) as part of my 4-H project, and those animals were *my* responsibility. Even though I’ve moved to the city, my parents still take care of the animals on our farm every day of the year. 🙂

      • Well, people argue that meat-eaters feel guilty whenever there is a vegetarian near them, but I think that’s rather biased: I’m sure you don’t feel guilty or exceptionally cruel when you enjoy your steak. And yes, people can be that way, but, hopefully, not all are like that.

        Oh, I didn’t know that about Southern culture, that’s interesting =) Do you think you couldn’t enjoy meals with someone of another race and, hence, of different cuisine culture?

        Well, you gave them love and tenderness, that’s good. My great-grandparents kept hens, and I hanged out with them digging up worms. And, from my point of view, ‘natural’ farming isn’t what vegans and animal rights activists are against: it’s the new industrial approach that torments animals and never lets them enjoy their life the way they can on a farm – no one ever lets them out of cages in air-light-tight boxes, they don’t eat fresh grass, they get shots of antibiotics and a terrible, excessively painful death. This whole issue is not about food, it’s about suffering and preserving humanity in people as well as the planet.

        p.s. I hope this makes sense =)

  2. I know lots of vegans that are sweet and non preachy. The vegans I know are very compassionate, caring, open minded, and are amazing cooks. Just throwing in another perspective! I’m sorry if you ever had a bad experience with one.

    • Oh, I’m sure there are! I know this is not indicative of every vegan out there — sadly, the few I’ve met are the preachy kind. 😦

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I guess it depends on the reasoning behind their dietary choice and whether they could live with my love of animal-based protein. I wouldn’t be with someone who nagged me constantly about the way I eat, but I could make room in my heart for someone who was comfortable letting me make my own choices as I would let them.

Leave a Reply

